Effective July 1, 2022, the City of Reading’s non-resident commuter tax of .3% has been eliminated.
Click here for more information.

City of Reading commuter taxpayers will not be able to electronically file a tax return for the 2022 tax year. See notice.

Berks Earned Income Tax Bureau

School Districts and Municipalities

The following school districts and municipalities are under the jurisdiction of Berks EIT. If your school district and/or municipality is not listed, please contact them directly.  

Antietam School District

Lower Alsace Township
Mount Penn Borough

Boyertown Area School District

Bally Borough
Bechtelsville Borough
Boyertown Borough
Colebrookdale Township
Douglass Township / Berks County
Earl Township
Washington Township
Douglass Township / Montgomery County
New Hanover Township **
Upper Frederick Township

** total combined Resident Tax rate is 1.15%

Brandywine Heights Area School District

District Township
Longswamp Township
Rockland Township
Topton Borough

Conrad Weiser Area School District

Heidelberg Township
Marion Township
North Heidelberg Township
Robesonia Borough
South Heidelberg Township
Squire Hill
Wernersville Borough
Womelsdorf Borough

Daniel Boone Area School District

Amity Township
Birdsboro Borough
Union Township

Exeter Township School District

Exeter Township
St. Lawrence Borough

Fleetwood Area School District

Fleetwood Borough
Maidencreek Township
Richmond Township

Governor Mifflin School District

Brecknock Township
Cumru Township
Kenhorst Borough
Mohnton Borough
Shillington Borough

Hamburg Area School District

Hamburg Borough
Perry Township
Shoemakersville Borough
Strausstown Borough
Tilden Township
Upper Bern Township
Upper Tulpehocken Township
Windsor Township

Kutztown Area School District

Albany Township
Greenwich Township
Kutztown Borough
Lenhartsville Borough
Lyons Borough
Maxatawny Township

Muhlenberg School District

Laureldale Borough
Muhlenberg Township

Oley Valley School District

Alsace Township
Oley Township
Pike Township
Ruscombmanor Township

Reading School District

City of Reading

Total resident tax rate is 3.6% and the Distressed Commuter Tax rate is 0.3% for 2013 through June 30, 2022. Effective July 1, 2022, the Distressed Commuter Tax was eliminated.

Total resident tax rate is 3.4% and the Distressed Commuter Tax rate is 0.1% for 2012

   -The Distressed Commuter Tax is an additional tax imposed upon residents working within the Reading City limits. Effective July 1, 2022, the Distressed Commuter Tax was eliminated.

Schuylkill Valley School District

Bern Township
Centerport Borough
Centre Township
Leesport Borough
Ontelaunee Township

Tulpehocken Area School District

Bernville Borough
Bethel Township
Jefferson Township
Penn Township
Tulpehocken Twp.

Wilson School District

Berkshire Heights (Wyomissing Borough)
Lower Heidleberg Township
Spring Township
Sinking Spring Borough

Taxpayers in the Berkshire Heights area are residents of the Wilson School District, even though Berkshire Heights is located in the Borough of Wyomissing.

Wyomissing Area School District

West Reading Borough
Wyomissing Borough